The premier league was founded as the FA Premier League on February 20th 1992 following the decision of clubs in the Football League First Division to break away from the football league founded in 1888.The 1888 season began on 8th of September with clubs ; Accrington,Aston Villa,Blackburn Rovers,Bolton Wanderers,Burnley,Derby County,Everton,Notts County,Preston Noth End,Stoke,West Bromwich,Albion,Wolverhampton Wanderers among others .

Today when England’s 20 clubs battle for the top tier of England’s great Football then it becomes The English Premier League.Honor comes at the end of the league after winning the crown.

This is the world’s most watched league with over one billion homes watching from slightly over 190 countries .

The Premier League takes takes place between months August and May and more specifically ,a total of 380 matches are played across every season ,both home and away .

3 points are usually awarded for a win ,1 point for a draw and no point at all Incase of a loss .The team with the most points usually bags the Premier League Trophy .

The last 3 teams of the Premier League table usually are fated to be replaced by clubs promoted from the championships .The trio becomes the teams 1st,2nd and 3rd at the end of the playoffs .

Since the league kicked off in 1992 ,we have had 7 different winners ,among them .Manchester United,Arsenal,Chelsea,Manchester City,Blackburn Rovers,Leicester City and Liverpool .Among them all,Manchester United have had the most success bagging 13 titles out of 31 seasons running .

Premier League champions
2021/22 Manchester City
2020/21 Manchester City
2019/20 Liverpool
2018/19 Manchester City
2017/18 Manchester City
2016/17 Chelsea
2015/16 Leicester City
2014/15 Chelsea
2013/14 Manchester City
2012/13 Manchester United
2011/12 Manchester City
2010/11 Manchester United
2009/10 Chelsea
2008/09 Manchester United
2007/08 Manchester United
2006/07 Manchester United
2005/06 Chelsea
2004/05 Chelsea
2003/04 Arsenal
2002/03 Manchester United
2001/02 Arsenal
2000/01 Manchester United
1999/00 Manchester United
1998/99 Manchester United
1997/98 Arsenal
1996/97 Manchester United
1995/96 Manchester United
1994/95 Blackburn Rovers
1993/94 Manchester United
1992/93 Manchester United

English premier league champions since 1888

Team Against Number of Wins

Manchester United 20
Liverpool FC 19
Arsenal FC 13
Everton FC 9
Manchester City 8
Aston Villa 7
Chelsea FC 6
Sunderland AFC 6
Sheffield Wednesday 4
Newcastle United 4

Blackburn Rovers 3
Leeds United 3
Wolverhampton Wanderers 3
Huddersfield Town 3
Derby County 2
Tottenham Hotspur 2
Burnley FC 2
Portsmouth FC 2
Preston North End 2
Leicester City 1
Nottingham Forest 1
Ipswich Town 1
West Bromwich Albion 1
Sheffield United 1

Manchester United have the most Wins 🏆

April 30, 2023

Written by:

Jacob Otieno is a creative writer and showbiz analyst, expert of matters Entertainment, Politics, Sports, Lifestyle and emerging trends. etc. He is a graduate of Drama & Theatre Studies with IT from Maseno University.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *