President William Ruto established a 27-member task force to spearhead the establishment of the national lottery in line with Kenya Kwanza’s Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA).

The head of state announced the formation of the lottery program which he said would increase the government’s revenue collection to help deliver on its promises to citizens.

“The Administration’s Transformative Plan for the Nation espoused as Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA), posits a national lottery as part of the institutional framework to mobilise resources to supplement the Government’s efforts towards addressing various social causes and needs.”

The members were subdivided into two groups, a steering committee consisting of 14 members and a technical committee comprising 10 people to serve in the task force over a three-month period.

The first batch of six members of the steering committee includes four Principal Secretaries (PS) or their representatives, the Solicitor-General or his representative and a representative of the council of governors.

The PSs are from four ministries including the Treasury, Interior, Culture and Heritage and Social Protection.

Dr Narendra Raval was appointed the chairperson while Gideon G. Thuranira is his deputy. Other members are Paul Russo, Judith Karigu Kiragu, Anne Wakathiru Njenga, Grace Kamau,  Abdillahi K. Mutwafy and Jackline Chelangat Tonui.

The 10 members of the technical committee which would be chaired by Dr Linda Musumba are Wanjiku Wakogi, Dr Eric Aligula, Collins Kiprono,  Peter Mbugi,  Fred Mbasi, Geoffrey Malombe, Eric Korir, Wilson Njenga,  Catherine Ochanda and Murimi Murage.

February 20, 2023

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *